If you have used Google Buzz in the past (even if had not), you would have got an email from Google, that they would like to give all your Google Buzz Data back to you. It was officially announced by Google that, they are going to shut down Buzz back in October 2011. Since Google+ is doing pretty good and giving some tough competition to Facebook, Google Inc. decides to take out Google Buzz completely off the face of the Internet. As the final step of this process, they are planning to migrate certain data to your Google+ and some date to your Drive. This migration process is expected to be completed before 17th July 2013.
There are two types of files Google will back-up.
All your private data which is accessible only by you will be present in this file. All the private and public Google Buzz data you authorized in the past will be part of this file.
This will contain all the data and posts you publicly shared with people on Google Buzz. These are the type of information that can be viewed by anyone who has a link to view it. These kind of information may also sometimes appear in SERPs (Search Engine Results Page). If someone tends to view any of your public posts they will be permanently re-directed to this Public file.
What Happens To Your Buzz Comments?
If you were active on Buzz, chances are that you would have had a lot of conversations with the people you know. All the comments you made on other people’s posts will be saved to those people’s Public back-up file and not yours. Similarly, if someone made a comment on your posts, those comments will be saved to your back-up file. This gives rise to a new issue, the author of the post on who’s post you have commented has all rights to mark your comments as ‘public.’ If you are concerned, you can simply delete your Google Buzz data.
You can find all the back-up on your Google Drive.
What do you do with these files?
Heaven knows. These files will act like any other Google Drive file that you can share with others or Download and cherish for the rest of your life.
You can also choose which data you want Google to back-up from your Google Buzz profile. Just add a ‘/buzz’ to your Google Profile URL and you will be taken to a page where you will be able to choose which files to move to Drive.
The URL will look something like this,
How to Delete Google Buzz data Completely?
1. Make sure you are logged in to your Google account and visit the link below.
2. You will be taken to a page that looks like in the image below.
Simply hit the ‘Delete Buzz’ button and all your Buzz data will be gone. Additionally, you can also stop following people in Buzz, Reader and other Google Products.